söndag 15 november 2009

What is So Beneficial About Chakra Meditation?

By Gillian Tamzeen

Chakras are focal points of energy within the body that each and every person has. Whether we realize it or not, our chakras impact and affect our reality and they either help us completely experience life (when they are aligned and balanced) or they prevent us from enjoying life (when they are blocked or out of balance).

Chakra means energy in the Sanksrit language and the idea of chakras has been handed down from the Hindu religion. However, energy doesn't know or care about religion; it is a force of nature which passes through us all. The path with this energy takes through our bodies and into (or out of) our personal energy field is the chakras.

Making sure that our chakras are aligned and balanced make it possible for us to open our minds and get a better understanding of what our true spiritual nature is. Keep in mind that most people are not balanced and their chakras are not aligned. That is why chakra meditation is so important. To begin chakra meditation it is important you know where the chakras are located and what they do.

Your chakras are sited in vital areas such as your heart and your head. The organs which are in the area of these chakras are used to control the energy of the chakra and are as such directly affected by their chakra. There are seven chakras in the human body.

Your first chakra is call the Root Chakra and sits at the base of your spine. Governed by this chakra are your constitution and general health. This chakra is representative of our physical bodies and its relation between the physical and mental aspects of human nature. Each chakra has a color and red is the color of the Root Chakra.

Your second chakra is the Navel Chakra which is, as the name suggests, located in the lower abdomen. This chakra represents your drives towards physical love, including sexual pleasure. This chakra also governs your generosity and is where you will feel giving and receiving. This chakra's color is orange.

Third is the Solar Plexus Chakra, sited right below your chest. This chakra is representative of your transformational ability and your willpower. Control over your personal energy is also a part of what the Solar Plexus Chakra does. This chakra is where your self discipline is seated; as well as control over the ego. The color of this chakra is yellow.

Fourth is the Heart Chakra, located at the very center of our chests. Unsurprisingly, this chakra represents our feelings of love, understanding and compassion. The Heart Chakra governs love which is beyond the physical. The color if this chakra is green.

Fifth is the Throat Chakra, which sits between the top of the sternum and your chin. This is the chakra which is in charge of communication and helps you to understand that honesty, expressed through speech can be a source of truth and wisdom. This chakra's color is sky blue.

Your sixth chakra is the Brow Chakra, which can be found on your forehead (and for this reason is sometimes called the third eye). This is the chakra which controls imagination, intuition and insight. Properly aligned, this chakra lets you examine your soul by looking inward. Experiences of the divine are found here, in the chakra which is also the source of peace of mind. The color of the Brow Chakra is indigo.

The final chakra is the Crown Chakra, obviously based on the name it is found at the top of the head. So it should go with out saying then that anything that deals with the mind and spirit is controlled here. It is the Crown Chakra that is tied to our individual journey into understanding our own consciousness and our place in time and space. Anything dealing with the Higher Self is rooted in the Crown Chakra. The color for the Crown Chakra is violet.

If you know the function and the location of each of your chakras, you will be able to practice chakra meditation more effectively. You can use meditations which work on individual chakras, or ones which align them as a whole.

About the Author:

Inga kommentarer:

Skicka en kommentar